Inkogneto

Inkogneto

Local
Статус
Offline
Joined
9/13/21
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Sit back and get ready to explore some helpful options in your Instagram privacy settings.

Make your account private​

Undoubtedly, this is the first thing that comes to mind. A private account is the easiest way to make your profile private. Be sure that after changing the page type, no one else will be able to view your posts and stories. Of course, unless you allow it yourself.

Once your account is set to private, first-time users will only see your name and profile picture. They will also be able to submit a request to follow you. Only after you confirm this request will new followers see your photos, videos and stories.



To make your account private:

  • Go to the Instagram settings menu. It is hidden on your profile page in the upper right corner. Click on the gear at the very bottom to open settings.
  • Next follow the path: “Privacy > Account Privacy” and enable the “Private Account” option.
Untitled-117.png

An important point: anyone who is already following you when you change your account type to private will still be able to follow you. This means that if you want to block access to information about you to a certain person, you need to remove him from your list of subscribers.

To remove a specific person from your following:

  • Go to your profile and open the page with subscribers.
  • Scroll through the list and click on the “Delete” button next to the name of the subscriber you want to get rid of.

Protect your stories​

Instagram allows you to limit the number of people who can see your stories, as well as prevent users from sharing them with others.

To hide your stories from specific people:

  • Go to the following path: “Settings > Privacy > History”.
  • Select the “Hide stories from” option. Next, a list of your subscribers will open in front of you - mark those users who will no longer be able to view your stories by selecting their accounts by clicking on the circle next to the profile name.
Untitled-118.png

You can also prevent people from sharing your stories with others:

  • Go to the same path (“Settings > Privacy > History”). Scroll to the very bottom of the page, where you will find a section called “Reposts”.
  • You will see an option that says “Allow sharing.” Disabling this feature will prevent users from sharing your stories with others.
  • You can also turn off the "Allow reposts in stories" option to prevent people from adding your posts to their stories.
  • To stop sharing your stories on Facebook, turn off the "Share My Story on Facebook" feature. Your stories will be available exclusively on your Instagram page.
Additionally, you can use Instagram's Close Friends feature to allow only specific people to view your story:

  • To select users who will be part of the close friends group, go to the following path: “Settings > Privacy > History”.
  • In the “Close Friends” section, start adding people to whom your specific stories will be available.

Blocking users​

When you want to hide photos and videos posted on your page, you will have to take a more drastic approach than in the case of stories.

If you don't want to make your account private, you can block individual users:

  • To block a person, you first need to go to their Instagram profile. At the top of the page, click on the three vertical dots.
  • Select the “Block” option.
Untitled-119.png

Note: You can also restrict access to a specific user from the same menu. If you do this, he will still be able to view your posts and photos, but the person's comments will only be visible to you. Moreover, the chat with this user will be moved to conversation requests, so he will not be able to understand whether you read his message.

Make your account less visible to others​

There are several ways to make your account harder to find.

First, you can prevent your phone from sharing contacts with Instagram. Typically, an app will ask you to provide access to your phone book to help you find friends when you sign up for a social network. However, this also means that Instagram knows what numbers are in your contacts.

To prevent Instagram from viewing your phone book:

  • Go to the following path: “Settings > Account > Contact synchronization.”
  • Disable the “Connect Contacts” function.
You can also prevent Instagram from recommending your account to other users. This often happens if a person monitors the emergence of new users on a social network. Instagram recommends accounts that are similar to each other or have a large number of joint subscriptions. This feature cannot be disabled in the mobile application. To do this:

  • Go to the Instagram website and log into your profile.
  • Click on the “Edit Profile” button.
  • Uncheck the “Recommend your account to possible subscribers” option.
Finally, it's worth checking to see if one of your posts can be found in a Google search. Instagram doesn't allow Google to show your photos by default, but if you've ever logged into sites using your social network account credentials, it's probably pretty easy to find information about you online.

If one or more of your posts still appear in search, you need to prevent third-party applications from accessing your account. You can do this by opening the mobile app:

  • Go to the following path: “Settings > Security > Apps and sites > Active”
  • Remove from the list all applications that you no longer use.
Untitled-120.png

Prevent users from tracking your activity​

You can also prevent other users from following your Instagram activity.

Turn off your online status so people can't see when you're online. Keep in mind that if you turn this feature off, you won't be able to see when other users are online.

  • Go to the following path: “Settings > Privacy > Online Status”.
  • Disable the “Show network status” function.
You can view photos and videos tagged with you before they appear on your profile. If you have a public account, checking and confirming each tag will prevent spammers from attacking your profile. If you have a private account, this will help save your reputation if one of your friends posts a provocative photo and tags you. To take control of photos you are tagged in:

  • Go to the following path: “Settings > Privacy > Labels”.
  • Enable the “Manually approve tags” feature.
Untitled-124.png

Stop saving published posts and stories​

You may no longer want to save the photos and videos you post to Instagram (especially Stories). There are several settings to help you do this:

  • Go to the following path: “Settings > Privacy > History”.
  • Disable two options: the first is “Save to gallery” (Instagram saves your stories to your phone), the second is “Save stories to archive” (Instagram saves your stories in a separate menu in the application).
If you also don't want to save published posts:

  • Go to the following path: “Settings > Account > Original publications.”
  • Disable all three options (“Save original posts”, “Save published photos” and “Save published videos”).
This will prevent photos and videos from being stored locally on your phone; the only copy of them will be on Instagram.

Untitled-123-1.png

Turn off personalized advertising​

Your Instagram advertising depends on the websites you visit and apps you use. If you want to stop personalized ads from showing up, you'll have to head over to Facebook:

  • On your mobile device, in the Facebook application, go to the following path: “Settings and privacy > Settings > Advertising > Advertising settings.”
  • In a browser - simply go to this link and open the "Ad Settings" menu.
  • Two options should be disabled: “Data about your activities received from our partners” and “Advertising based on your activity on Facebook and our applications.” After this, you will no longer see personalized ads on Instagram.
 
Top